5. Sectors‎ > ‎Coastal and Marine‎ > ‎

National Estuaries

The map below shows the 299 functional estuarine systems (estuaries) along South Africa's coastline. The estuarine systems include the open water zones. The estuarine boundaries are set as the five metre topographical contour lines (upstream boundary) and the estuary mouth as the downstream boundary.

Source: SANBI & CSIR . National Estuaries 2012 [vector geospatial dataset] 2012. Available from the Biodiversity GIS website